top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Rondina

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition Coming November 11

The hotly anticipated GTA Definitive Edition will arrive November 11th on PS5, Xbox Series X|S, Nintendo Switch, PS4 and Xbox One.

After a short teaser trailer, Rockstar Games has now released gameplay footage and a release date for Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition. On November 11th, 2021 players will be able to experience the classic iconic cities, a trifecta of epic stories, all in one definitive collection. The package will include Grand Theft Auto III, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas together all enhanced for a new generation.

The Definitive Edition will be available digitally on November 11 through the PlayStation Store, the Microsoft Store on Xbox, Nintendo eShop, and the Rockstar Games Launcher, with a physical release for Xbox Series X|S and Xbox One, Nintendo Switch, and PlayStation 4 on December 7.

Classic cities are back

Bringing the classic worlds of Liberty City, Vice City, and San Andreas to modern platforms, The Trilogy will also debut new GTAV-inspired modern controls. There will also be across-the-board visual enhancements such as resolution upgrades and improved visual fidelity across the open worlds.

Gameplay improvements

Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition introduces “modern control upgrades” including improvements to targeting and lock-on aiming, updated Weapon and Radio Station Wheels, updated Mini-Maps with enhanced navigation allowing players to set waypoints to destinations, updated Achievements, Trophies, and more.

The Nintendo Switch version also features Switch-specific controls including Gyro aiming, as well as touch screen camera zooming, pans, and menu selections, while the PC version includes support for NVIDIA DLSS and additional new Accomplishments via the Rockstar Games Social Club.

Adapted to a new generation of hardware

Originally developed by Rockstar Games, Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition has been adapted to modern platforms by Grove Street Games using Unreal Engine to make the classic games more vibrant and more immersive than ever. Among these changes are a rebuilt lighting system, improved shadows, weather, and reflections.

Character and vehicle models will also be upgraded along with new higher resolution textures across buildings, weapons, roads, interiors, and more. Grand Theft Auto: The Trilogy – The Definitive Edition also features a range of environmental upgrades including all new foliage, smoother surfaces, and increased draw distances to provide a new level of depth and clarity throughout the world.

Xbox Game Pass and PlayStation Now release details

Players will also be able to experience Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas – The Definitive Edition with Xbox Game Pass starting November 11.

Grand Theft Auto III – The Definitive Edition will be available on PlayStation Now starting December 7.


bottom of page